Book Review 3

 
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
 
After a brief hiatus from my usual reading fare, fiction, I returned to one of my favourite authors. I have always loved Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series, and his books are some of the very few that I’ve ever read that can make me laugh out loud. Really. So when I was walking around looking for a nice paperback to read during the holidays, Terry’s name just sort of jumped up from the rows of books, and I bought it with no hesitation. As for Neil Gaiman, I’ve never read his books before, but I was prepared to give it a try.
 
And I wasn’t disappointed. Good Omens is a humorous story of the Armageddon, told through the eyes of an angel and a demon who are actually on friendly terms. A ‘truly accurate’ book of prophecies, a hellhound named ‘Dog’, the notion that Famine (one of the Four Horsemen) actually invented dieting, are some of the few touches that made this book a simply hilarious read. All the footnotes, Discworld-style, are there as well. Although not up to his usual standards (this was a collaboration after all), Pratchett again manages to make me laugh. I enjoyed this book, and I’m looking forward to more of Pratchett’s works.
 
Rating : 9 out of 10
 
 

Leave a Reply

